We Are United On Presidency Coming To Southwest In 2023- Akande

Former interim National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief Bisi Akande on Friday said the South West is united that the presidency must come to the zone in 2023.

He stated this at the end of a meeting with APC presidential aspirants from the South West in Lagos. THe deliberation, he added was fruitful.

Addressing journalists who laid siege on the venue after the meeting, the convener and founding chairman of APC, Chief Bisi Akande said the meeting was successful and the leaders and aspirants had frank and honest discussion on how they must work together to ensure the South West gets the presidential ticket of the APC.

“We had a good meeting and made my desire to see the presidency comes to the South West clear to all the aspirants. We told them to eschew anything capable of causing disunity. We also made it clear they must be guided in their public utterances against one another and avoid disparaging statement against themselves,” he stated.

The parley resolved on key three resolutions according to Chief Akande as follows: the presidency must return to the South West, aspirants must campaign with decorum and the four aspirants must work for whosoever gets the ticket at the APC primary.

Read Also BREAKING: Osinbajo, Aregbesola, Tinubu, Fayemi, Attend APC Southwest Leaders Parley
Chief Akande did not entertain questions from journalists after his brief address.

WesternPost reported earlier in the week that regional leader of APC were concerned about the tempo of campaign of the aspirants and decided to step in to see how the emerging crowded field can be pruned down to ensure the region does not miss the opportunity to produce the next President of Nigeria.

All the four presidential aspirants; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi and Senator Ibikunle Amosun attended the parley which took place at the Old Government House, Marina.

South West Governors at the meeting include Osun State Governor, Gboyega Oyetola and Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, Ogun State Governor, Dapo Abiodun and the host Governor of Lagos, Babajide Sanwo-Olu.
Read Also BREAKING: Osun APC Crisis: Tinubu, Aregbesola Meet In Public For First Time
Other top Federal Government officials and party leaders that attended the meeting include Minister of Trade and Industry, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, APC National Secretary, Dr. Iyiola Omisore, Speaker of House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila and former Governor of Ogun State, Otunba Gbenga Daniel among others.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com